Home Learning and Out of Class Learning 

Why is learning at home important?

At Tong Leadership Academy home-learning is designed to support achievement and help our pupils to develop the skills and attitudes they will need for successful lifelong learning.

Learning out of the classroom is an essential part of a student’s education. Regular home-learning is set because it gives pupils the opportunity to research, consolidate, practise, and revise. Home-learning develops important life long skills. It helps students become confident and independent in their learning.

We believe home-learning is vital for academic success at any level. It allows families to spend time supporting their child and encouraging them to always give their best effort.

Both the government and OFSTED see out of class learning as an integral part of education.

Home -learning is defined as work that is an additional enhancement of the work undertaken in lessons. Not all homework is done at home; in fact, for some pupils who find it hard to work at home, or for some tasks, which may require resources (books, software, equipment), it is necessary or desirable to carry out the task at school.

The Love to Learn is open for all students after school Monday-Friday until 3:30pm. 

There are lots of online resources available to help your child learn.  Spending time studying at home will greatly improve exam success.  Various resources and support guides can be found below.

Maths

Maths Watch Support Guide.docx   Method Maths Support Guide.docx  Maths Clips.pdf

English

 AQA English Language - http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-language-8700

AQA English Language - http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-literature-8702

BBC Bitesize English Language - http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zr9d7ty

BBC Bitesize English Literature -  http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/english_literature/

Shakespear 'Unlocked' - http://www.bbc.co.uk/arts/shakespeare/       http://nfs.sparknotes.com/

York Notes -  https://www.yorknotes.com/

 

Modern Foreign Languages

Spanish Exam Board resources -  http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/languages/gcse/spanish-8698

Interactive language learning website for Spanish and French -   http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages  Username:tong   Password: star16

Suitable for Y7-Y12 -  http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/spanish/mividaloca/

Science

KS3 Science Bitesize   - http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zng4d2p

Planet Science - http://www.planet-science.com

School Science Website - http://www.schoolscience.co.uk/home

Steve Spangler Science - http://www.stevespanglerscience.com/lab/experiments/

BBC GCSE Bitesize - http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/science/aqa/

AQA Revision Ideas - http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/steps-to-success-in-science/revision-materials

My GCSE - http://www.my-gcsescience.com

YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqbOeHaAUXw9Il7sBVG3_bw

Doc Brown - http://www.docbrown.info/page20/AQAscience2.htm

GCSE Exam Board http://qualifications.pearson.com/en/qualifications/edexcel-gcses/sciences-2016.html

A level Exam board http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/science/as-and-a-level

 

History

BBC Bitesize History - www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/history/

Active History - www.activehistory.co.uk

Johndclare.net - www.johndclare.net

School History - www.schoolhistory.co.uk

Geography

AQA Geography (8035)    http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/geography/gcse/geography-8035

  BBC Bitesize Geography   http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/geography/

Ordnance Survey - https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/mapzone/

Royal Geographical Society - http://www.rgs.org/HomePage.htm

National Geographic - http://www.nationalgeographic.com

Cool Geography -  http://www.coolgeography.co.uk

GCSEPOD - https://www.gcsepod.com

Performing Arts

   PerOCR Drama GCSE (j316)  http://www.ocr.org.uk/qualifications/gcse-drama-j316-from-2016/

AQA Dance GCSE (8236)  http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/dance/gcse/dance-8236

AQA Music GCSE http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/music/gcse/music-8271

Music Theory https://www.musictheory.net/

GCSE Bitesize http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zpf3cdm

Technology

AQA Food Preparation and Nutrition GCSE  http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/food/gcse/food-preparation-and-nutrition-8585/specification-at-a-glance

OCR Computer Science GCSE (J276) www.ocr.org.uk/qualifications/gcse-computer-science-j276-from-2016

OCR ICT Level 1/2 Award/Certificate www.ocr.org.uk/qualifications/cambridge-nationals-ict-level-1-2-j800-j810-j820

Highfield Edmodo www.edmodo.com

Computing at School www.computingatschool.org.uk

PE and BTEC Sport

Kerboodle - https://www.kerboodle.com/users/login

BBC Bitesize - http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/znyb4wx

Art

AQA Art and Design GCSE http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/art-and-design/gcse/art-and-design-8201-8206

Grundy Art Gallery http://www.grundyartgallery.com

Tate Modern  http://www.tate.org.uk/visit/tate-modern

National Portrait Gallery  http://www.npg.org.uk

Washington Green Fine Art  http://www.washingtongreen.co.uk

Religious Studies

AQA Religious Studies (8602) - http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/religious-studies/gcse/religious-studies-a-8062

BBC Bitesize Religious Studies - http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/subjects/zb48q6f

Health and Social Care

NHS Careers - https://www.healthcareers.nhs.uk/

NHS Choices - http://www.nhs.uk/

Department of Health - https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-of-health

  

Skip to content Accessibility page